Chippy Lane’s ‘Writing Apprentice’


We are on the lookout for a ‘WRITING APPRENTICE’ to join us on our next theatre project’s R&D process. If you want to know what it’s like to be part of the development of new writing we would encourage you to apply.


Writing Apprentice Brief:

  • This is an ITC rate paid opportunity.
  • X5 full days of work in Cardiff, 10am – 6pm.
  • 21st – 25th October 2019.
  • The chance to work alongside award winning playwright Alan Harris.
  • Support the R&D process with a creative team that include the director, dramaturg, producer and actors.
  • Learn valuable skills and gain experience working in a professional environment.
  • Gain knowledge and a unique insight into working on a new piece of writing at a crucial development phase.  
  • The opportunity to work with Chippy Lane and become acquainted with their processes. 

If you meet any of the following criteria then we’d love to hear from you:

  • Identify as Welsh.
  • Welsh born.
  • Permanently Wales-based.

We are particularly interested in hearing from ANY emerging Welsh or Wales-based writers who are unpublished and want to write for stage.


Submission Brief:

  • We welcome applications from ANY Welsh or Wales-based writers.
  • Please send us a maximum of two pages of the writing you believe best represents your ability to write in a theatre format.
  • Please attach a separate (one side of A4 with answers to the following info):



YOUR CONNECTION TO WALES (born / based etc):


BIOG OF YOUR WRITING SO FAR(no longer than 200 words):

FAVOURITE PIECE OF NEW WRITING AND WHY(no longer than 200 words)?



  • Email us with your name and ‘CL’S WRITING APPRENTICE’ in the subject bar.
  • Email address –
  • Please put all your attachments in PDF format.
  • We will only read two pages of script so please do not send anything more than that.

Key Dates:

Submission Window: Open until July 1st 2019

Interviews (Cardiff): August 2019  

Announce Writing Apprentice: September 2019



Chippy Lane Productions Ltd. (CLP) was founded in 2016 by Rebecca Jade Hammond, a Cardiff born actor, writer and producer. CLP’s primary mission is to promote Welsh and Wales-based theatre and talent, to audiences in and beyond Wales. “Regional work is important, audiences want to hear stories from everywhere” (CLP in Arts Scene In Wales, 2016).

CLP is a London-based Welsh company created in response to our research that showed a lack of Welsh work being produced beyond Wales. The arts, in Wales and from Welsh origin, are undergoing change and there is a wealth of excitement for writing, acting and theatre that is new, diverse and vibrant. We achieve our goal by building relationships with established Welsh and Wales-based playwrights, encouraging and producing new work, and reaching out to Welsh communities living inside and outside of Wales. “The grass roots of Welsh performance are irrepressible” (CLP in Theatre In Wales, 2018).

As a young company Chippy Lane has achieved a tremendous amount in a short space of time with limited resources and funding. At the helm of this company is Artistic Director Rebecca Jade Hammond. Her commitment and dedication to the championing of the Welsh and Wales-based voices has been met with open arms from fellow creatives. Her position and perspective as a Welsh company operating outside of Wales developing work across both Wales and England, bridging the gap between two countries has led to interest from arts media (The Guardian, The Stage, Wales Arts Review, Arts Desk, Exeunt, What’s On Stage, GetTheChanceWales, Arts Scene in Wales, Western Mail). Rebecca was also recently recognised as a ‘100 Women of Wales’ 2018 and 2019 by Wales Arts Review, which highlights women who are ones to watch, and inspiring the arts in Wales.  

“Chippy Lane Productions might not be a common name on theatre-goers’ tongues, but this is evidence it might soon be.” 
Arts Desk  ★★★★

” If Chippy Lane’s second production was to be summed up in one word, that word would almost certainly be ‘love’. Both on- and off-stage, love permeates through every nook and cranny.”

Wales Arts Review

“Rebecca is pioneering opportunities for women writers from Wales to champion their abilities and break through the boundaries and stereotypes of writing they have previously been confined to.”
The Cardiffian


Artistic Director  | Becca Hammond 
Associate Playwright |  Jacob Hodgkinson 
Production Assistant | Sophie Hughes 
Creative Associate  | Andrew David 
Creative Associate | Sophie Melville
Creative Associate | Rhys Warrington
Company Director | Lucas Pardue


Chippy Lane is kindly supported project by project with funding from Arts Council Wales